When you open a work order, you will see the Edit Work Order screen. This screen has 10 sections that can be used to edit the work order: Main Info (1), Customer (2), Item Being Repaired (3), Technician (4), Estimated Repair Date (5), Estimates (6), Parts & Labor (7), Notes (8), Images (9), and Additional Information (10)
Note: To see a summary of how to use a particular section listed above, click on the number next to the section, for example "Main Info (1)".
Main Info Section
Use this section to view the basic information about the work order and use the options to interact with the work order.
You can view the basic information about the work order (the work order id number and the sale date of the work order) (A) and the current status of the work order (B). You are also able to change the status of the work order by selecting the desired status from the drop-down list (C) (shown below). If you do not want to change the status, select Change Status from the drop-down list. You can manage the work order statuses included in the drop-down list by using the Manage Statuses screen (for more information, see Managing Work Order Statuses in coreSTORE).
In order to interact with the work order, use the 4 buttons included in this section:
- Edit Sale (D): Click the Edit Sale button to go to the Edit Sale screen for the work order's sale.
- Print (E): Click the Print button to go to the Print Work Order screen for the work order [for more information, see (E) in Work Orders Module Main Options Guide].
- Service Tag (F): Click the Service Tag button to go to the Print Service Tags screen (for more information, see Print Service Tags Screen Guide).
- Done (G): Click the Done button to go back to the main screen of the Work Orders module (for more information, see Work Orders Module Overview).
If you have checked the Send to Supplier checkbox when creating or editing a work order status (for more information, see Add/Edit Status Screen Guide), when you select that status from the drop-down list (C), the supplier field will also show in this section. You can add a supplier in a couple of ways. You can go to the New Supplier screen and add the new supplier there by clicking the Add Supplier button (H) [after adding a supplier here, you will need to navigate back to the work order, select the status from the drop-down list again, then add the supplier using the field (J)], or you can narrow down which supplier you want to add by typing keywords in the field (J) and selecting the supplier from the drop-down list that will show as you type.
After adding the supplier, it will replace the supplier field, instead just showing the supplier you selected. You can detach the supplier from the work order by clicking x Detach (K).
In this section, you can view the customer's contact info (this can only be changed by editing the work order's sale). You will see the customer's name and address (L), email address (M), and phone number (N). You can also send an email to the customer by clicking their email address (M), or call the customer by clicking on their phone number (N).
Item Being Repaired Section
In this section, you can view the item that is being repaired (this can only be changed by editing the work order's sale). You will see the item's name (O) and additional information about the item (P). If the item is being repaired under warranty, check the Warranty Repair checkbox (R).
When you first access the work order, this section will have no technician (None) assigned to the work order. In order to assign a technician to the work order, narrow down the technician you want to assign by typing the technician's name in the field (S) and selecting the technician from the drop-down list (this list includes all of your employees setup in the Employees module).
Once you assign a technician to the work order, the technician's name (T), email address (U), and phone number (V) will replace the field (S). You can also send an email to the technician by clicking their email address (U), or call the technician by clicking on their phone number (V).
If you want to change which technician is assigned to the work order, click Change Technician (W), and this section will reset to the field (S). At this point, you will be able to select a new technician to assign to the work order.
Estimated Repair Date Section
When you first access the work order, this section will have no estimated repair date set. In order to set an estimated repair date, you can input the date and time in the field (X), or use the calendar (i) and/or time tools (ii) to select a date and time.
In this section, input the estimated cost of parts (Y) and labor (Z).
Parts & Labor Section
Use this section to add the items that you are using to repair the item that is being repaired in the work order. You can add an item in a couple of ways. You can go to the Item Info tab on the New Item screen and add the new item there (for more information about this tab, see Item Info Tab Guide) by clicking the Add Item button (AA) [after adding an item here, make sure to click the back button on your browser to go back to this work order, where you will then need to add the item to this section using the field (BB)], or you can narrow down which item you want to add by typing keywords in the field (BB) and selecting the item from the drop-down list that will show as you type.
After adding the item, it will show in the list below. In this list, you can delete the item from this section by clicking the x button (CC), edit the quantity of the item by clicking on the current quantity (DD), view the name of the item (EE), edit the price of the item by clicking on the current price (FF), and view the total cost of the item (GG) [coreSTORE will automatically calculate the Total (GG) by multiplying the values set in (DD) and (FF)].
In this section, you can add notes to the work order. Click the note icon (HH) to add a new note. You can view the note's details (JJ), including the date and time the note was added, the name of the note, the text of the note, and which technician added the note. To edit the note, click the pencil icon (KK), or to delete the note, click the trash can icon (LL).
When you are adding or editing a note, the Enter Note window will pop-up, where you can add/edit the note by using the following options:
- Note (MM): Input the name of the note.
- Detailed Note (NN): Input the text of the note.
- Internal Note (OO): Check the checkbox if you do not want this note to be seen by the customer on the sale receipt for the work order. If you mark the note as internal, the note will appear pink in the Notes section.
- Cancel (PP): Click the Cancel button if you do not want to add the note.
- Save (RR): Click the Save button to save the note.
Use this section to add an image to the work order. If you want to take a photo using the camera of the device you are using (for details on how to take photos using coreSTORE, see Item Images Tab Guide), click the camera icon (SS). If you want to add an image by uploading it from the device you are using, you can click in the area outlined by blue dashes (TT) to choose a file from the device, or you can drag and drop an image into the same area (TT).
Once you add an image, it will show to the right of the area outlined by blue dashes (TT). In order to delete the image, click Delete (UU).
Additional Information Section
If you have created a custom field for work orders (for more information, see Customizing Your coreSTORE Using Custom Fields), it will show in this section (VV).